In addition to providing professional development and networking opportunities, a core focus of the Raleigh Public Relations Society is to recognize the achievements of our members and other public relations practitioners in the state.

Sir Walter Raleigh AwardSir Walter Raleigh Awards for Excellence in Communication

The Sir Walter Raleigh Awards competition is a showcase of exemplary work by public relations and communication professionals throughout North Carolina. This competition is held annually and recognizes and honors practitioners who have achieved excellence in a variety of categories, as judged by an independent panel of judges.

The Sir Walter Raleigh Awards program is open to any communication professional in North Carolina regardless of membership, or the type of business they represent.

More information and the call for entries will be available in spring 2015.

Watt Huntley AwardWatt Huntley Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Watt Huntley Award for Lifetime Achievement is presented to an individual who has made lasting and meaningful contributions to the field of public relations over the course of a career. It is given in memory of the late Watt Huntley, who served as public relations chief at Carolina Power & Light in the late 1960s and early 1970s. Huntley also served as president of the Raleigh Public Relations Society, and so the organization’s highest honor bears his name.

The call for nominations for the 2015 Watt Huntley Award for Lifetime Achievement is now open. Nominations must be received no later than Aug. 29, 2015, for more information contact the RPRS Awards Chair.

Past Winners

2014 – Teresa Damiano, Raleigh-Durham International Airport
2013 – Roger Friedensen, APR, Forge Communications
2012 – Queenie Byars, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2011 – Cindy Gardiner, APR
2010 – Robert Larson, North Carolina State University
2009 – Ray Hornak, APR, The Catevo Group
2008 – Dr. Mitch Javidi, President and CEO, The Catevo Group
2007 – Dr. Melissa Johnson, North Carolina State University
2006 – Becky Christian, WakeMed
2005 – Ron Smith, APR, S&A Cherokee
2004 – Michael Herman, APR, The Catevo Group
2003 – Steve Meehan, Capstrat founder
2002 – Sherry O’Neal (McIntyre), N.C. State College of Design
2001 – Jeannie Morelock, Meredith College